The state of Oregon is allowed to charge the road tax; as for a commercial vehicle owner, it is always better to get a permit for the same. Charging this tax at a state level was achievable due to the support from the federal government.
The State of Oregon has the authority to charge its own road tax but it is clearly dependent upon the weight you carry on your truck. The trip permit to travel to Oregon is not required if the whole weight of your truck + load does not exceed 26 000 lbs. Having weight above this threshold certainly requires a permit for traveling to Oregon. If you have any questions, call our support team at 5593897772 and we will be happy to help you.
The trip permit to Oregon is always valid for 10 days. Also, when you get your trip permit, you don’t have to apply for a fuel permit separately as it will come together with your trip permit.
With us, it’s simple, it’s fast, and it’s secure, Thank You for Your trust.
If you are a trucker or a trucking business owner, you need to know how to handle work permits and business filings. The process can be really tricky because of the multiple laws crafted for truckers carrying loads across states. JST Truck Permits provides service in helping you keep track of your Truck permits and ensures you are in compliance with all the laws and remove any chance of penalties.
We have more than 10 years of experience in providing services to the trucking industry. We serve all sizes of businesses across the United States. We are a one-stop shop for all your driver’s permit needs. From fuel tax reporting, trucking permits, business filing, and authorities across the United States, We can do it all.
Oregon state law mandates that all commercial truckers acquire Oregon Truck Permits regardless of whether they are operating interstate or intrastate. Trucking companies and owner-operators are required to obtain these permits because the state sees the deliverers as owners and not lessees. Since the state sees the commercial trucks as being in the possession of Oregon residents and Oregon businesses in the state, it is best that the companies and individuals hold Oregon Truck Permits.
Oregon Public Utilities Commission is known as Oregon PUC. However, the Oregon Department of Transportation is in charge of these permits. Vehicles operating in Oregon must apply for an Oregon PUC Permit and obtain an Oregon PUC Plate if their gross vehicle weight is between 26,000 and 80,000 pounds.
The tax rate for these permits varies based on the vehicle weight. Therefore, the tax will be higher the heavier the car.